Center for Cancer Research leaders work together and with advisory groups to enhance and expand the foundational strengths of the Center.  Our Center is focused on promoting basic discovery, facilitating transdisciplinary collaborative research, improving the drug discovery pipeline, and enhancing the movement of discoveries toward application.  Our leadership builds on the Center’s core strengths and enables us to drive research toward solutions of major cancer issues.


Senior Leadership

Timothy L. Ratliff, Ph.D.
Robert Wallace Miller Director

Marrietta L. Harrison, Ph.D.
Associate Director, Oncological Sciences

Sophie A. Lelièvre, DVM, Ph.D., LL.M. (Public Health)
Associate Director, Collaborative Sciences

Andrew Mesecar, Ph.D.
Deputy Director

Douglas Cuttell, MS, MBA

Managing Director

Research Program Leaders


Cell Identity and Signaling

Scott D. Briggs, Ph.D.
Program Leader

Chang-Deng Hu, M.D., Ph.D.
Program Co-Leader

Chemical and Structural Biology

Cynthia V. Stauffacher, Ph.D.

Program Leader

David Thompson, Ph.D.

Program Co-Leader

Drug Delivery and Molecular Sensing

Alexander Wei, Ph.D.

Program Leader

Joseph Irudayaraj, Ph.D.

Program Co-Leader

Medicinal Chemistry


Program Leader

Deborah Knapp, DVM, MS

Program Co-Leader

The Center for Cancer Research Executive Committee, comprised of senior leadership and research program leader members, have dedicated their careers to discovering a cure. They drive the center’s mission and research, meeting monthly to review research progress, set goals and track results.