External Advisory Committee

The Center’s External Advisory Committee is composed of outside authorities in cancer research. These twelve scientists’ expertise drives research initiatives in cancer drug discovery and evaluation, target validation, DNA damage-response mechanisms, toxicology, antitumor agent development and engineering, among others. Their objective insights and guidance are integral to the continued progress of the Purdue Center for Cancer Research.

External Advisory Committee members:

Cell Identity and Signaling

Janet Houghton, Ph.D.
Lerner Research Institute / Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, OH
Robert Lewis, Ph.D.
Eppley Institute for Research in Cancer and Allied Diseases
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE
H. Kim Lyerly, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Duke University School of Medicine
Durham, NC
Michael Ostrowski, Ph.D.
Ohio State University
Columbus, OH

Chemical and Structural Biology

Mark Walter, Ph.D. (CHAIR)
University of Alabama – Birmingham
Birmingham, AL
Peter Wipf, Ph.D.
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA
Nikola Pavletich, Ph.D.
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Sloan Kettering Institute
New York, NY 10065

Drug Delivery and Molecular Sensing

Jinming Gao, Ph.D.
Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center /
UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
Dallas, TX
Vladimir P. Torchilin, Ph.D.
Northeastern University
Boston, MA

Medicinal Chemistry

Kit Lam, M.D., Ph.D.
University of California Davis Cancer Center
Sacramento, CA
Edison T. Liu, M.D.
The Jackson Laboratory
Bar Harbor, ME
Susan Mooberry, Ph.D.
UT Health Science Center San Antonio
San Antonio, TX